Holy Sameba, or Cathedral of the Holy Trinity, is the main cathedral of the Georgian Orthodox Church. Erected in 1995-2004. Cathedral stands on the hill of St. Elijah, that is on the left bank of the Kura River. The project was made by the famous architect Archil Mindiashvili.
The idea to build a new cathedral in Tbilisi was born in 1989 on the eve of the 2000 anniversary from the date of the Nativity of Christ, and 1500-year anniversary of the autocephaly of the Georgian Orthodox Church. Soon a competition was announced for the best project of the Cathedral of the Holy Trinity. The competition was won by the architect A. Mindiashvili. In connection with the social and political crisis, the project was put on hold for 6 years and only in November 1995, laid the first foundation stone for the temple. Inauguration of the cathedral took place on the day of St. George November 23, 2004
The complex Holy Trinity Cathedral of Tbilisi is the Cathedral, the chapel, the residence of the Patriarch, monastery, seminary and academy, hotel and other ancillary buildings. The total area of the Cathedral is 5 square meters, and height – 101 meters. Bells of the temple were made in Germany. 9 bells with two modes were installed on the chapel: mechanical and electronic. The biggest bell weighs 8200 kg.
The cathedral has 13 altars. The floors of the cathedral built of marble and decorated with mosaic tiles. The walls are decorated with paintings and frescoes. In the temple you can see a few valuable icons and large handwritten Bible, which lies near the altar. All four facades of Holy Trinity Cathedral of Tbilisi ennobled by arches and several rows of unique carvings.